Home Page
  • Torver Crescent, Seaburn Dene, Sunderland, SR6 8LG Tel - 0191 5634100

Meet Our Staff

The Senior Management Team includes:


Mr Howe - Headteacher

Mr Smith - Deputy Headteacher/ Wider Curriculum and School Data Manager / Y6 Teacher

Mrs Wilson-  Manager of the Foundation Stage Unit and Yr 1


Come and meet our teachers


Mr. J. Howe

After graduating from the University of York St John with a degree in history, my career took me into writing where I was to forge a successful and award-winning career in journalism. Across the North East, I worked for all the major regional newspapers from The Journal to The Evening Chronicle, rising to the position of News Editor. At the same time, volunteering in various schools in Sunderland allowed me to experience the world of teaching and this prompted me to change careers, starting with the Graduate Teacher Programme direct route into Highfield Community Primary School in Sunderland. After graduating from the University of Sunderland, I started my NQT year at St Paul's CE Primary in Ryhope. While there I eventually became part of the senior leadership team, literacy, PE co-ordinator and KS2 leader. At the same time, I developed a role as a writing moderator for the local authority. In September 2014, I joined Seaburn Dene Primary as deputy head teacher. Outside of school, I coach rugby in Sunderland, have two children and still enjoy writing - whenever possible.

Deputy Head Teacher/ Wider Curriculum and School Data Manager / Y5 Teacher

Mr. G.L. Smith

Manager of the Early Years Department -School Leadership Team

Mrs D. Wilson

Science Co-ordinator for the Foundation Stage and Key Stage 1

Responsible for the welfare and progress of Looked After Children

Deputy Designated Officer For Child Protection And Safeguarding

Mrs L. Smith-Higher Level Teaching Assistant.


Special Educational Needs and Disabilities Co-ordinator

Year 2 Teacher

Mrs J. Cruddas

Mental Health/Wellbeing Lead


Foundation Stage Staff

Mrs. L. Taylor

Co-ordinator of the school's Sex and Relationship Education and Personal, Health and Social Education programmes and RE.

Mrs M. Brown

Year 1 Teacher

Mrs V G Tough is the Year 1 teacher and Design Technology and Art co-ordinator. 

Year 3 Teacher

Mr R Good classteacher, co-ordinator of History and Geography.
Year 4 Teacher
Mr. James Ashton-Classteacher responsible for Maths and P.E
Year 6 Teacher
Mrs A. Houston classteacher and English and music co-ordinator and leader of the Gifted, Able and Talented programme
Office Staff
Mrs L. Halliday-School Business Manager
Mrs Sheena Baker-School Systems Manager (including admissions)
Teaching Assistants

Mrs E. Berston


Mrs L. Gibbins


Miss Shannon Henderson

Site Supervisor


Mr Ian Turnbull