Home Page
  • Torver Crescent, Seaburn Dene, Sunderland, SR6 8LG Tel - 0191 5634100

Meet Our Staff

Meet The Staff

The greatest resource the school has in meeting the needs of our children is adults. It is the daily interactions between adults and children which have the most impact on learning both academically and personally. We aim for the staff team to work flexibly and dynamically in order to strive for the best outcomes for the pupils of Seaburn Dene Primary School.


Each class has one full-time equivalent teacher but there are several teaching assistants (TAs) who support children throughout the day. This is key in supporting children’s progress within lessons; together they will teach, guide and support classes/groups throughout the whole school day. In addition to our regular staff, depending on additional local or national funding, further adults may be appointed on a short term basis to support specific groups of children.

The Senior Management Team includes:


Mr Howe - Headteacher/Designated Safeguarding Lead.

Mr Smith - Deputy Head Teacher/ Wider Curriculum Leader / Y3 Teacher/Deputy Designated Lead.

Mrs Wilson-  Manager of the Foundation Stage Unit and Yr 1/Science & Early Reading.

Mrs A Houston - English and Reading lead.

Head Teacher 

Mr. J. Howe

After graduating from the University of York St John with a degree in history, my career took me into writing where I was to forge a successful and award-winning career in journalism. Across the North East, I worked for all the major regional newspapers from The Journal to The Evening Chronicle, rising to the position of News Editor. At the same time, volunteering in various schools in Sunderland allowed me to experience the world of teaching and this prompted me to change careers, starting with the Graduate Teacher Programme direct route into Highfield Community Primary School in Sunderland. After graduating from the University of Sunderland, I started my NQT year at St Paul's CE Primary in Ryhope. While there I eventually became part of the senior leadership team, literacy, PE co-ordinator and KS2 leader. At the same time, I developed a role as a writing moderator for the local authority. In September 2014, I joined Seaburn Dene Primary as deputy head teacher. Outside of school, I coach rugby in Sunderland, have two children and still enjoy writing - whenever possible.

Deputy Head Teacher/ Wider Curriculum Lead / Y3 Teacher/Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead

Mr. G.L. Smith

Manager of the Early Years Department -School Leadership Team

Mrs D. Wilson

Science Co-ordinator for the Foundation Stage and Key Stage 1

Responsible for the welfare and progress of Looked After Children

Special Educational Needs and Disabilities Co-ordinator/ Mental Health and Wellbeing Lead

Year 2 Teacher

Mrs J. Cruddas



Foundation Stage Staff

Mrs. L. Taylor

Co-ordinator of the school's Sex and Relationship Education and Personal, Health and Social Education programmes and RE.

Mrs M. Brown

Year 1 Teacher

Mrs V G Tough is the Year 1 teacher and Design Technology and Art co-ordinator. 

Year 4 Teacher

Mr R Good classteacher, co-ordinator of History and Geography.

Year 5 Teacher

Mr. James Ashton-Classteacher responsible for Maths and P.E
Year 6 Teacher
Mrs A. Houston classteacher and English and music co-ordinator and leader of the Gifted, Able and Talented programme

HLTA/Deputy Safeguarding Lead

Mrs L. Smith-Higher Level Teaching Assistant.


Office Staff
Mrs L. Halliday-School Business Manager
Mrs Sheena Baker-School Systems Manager (including admissions)
Teaching Assistants

Mrs E. Berston


Mrs L. Gibbins


Miss S Henderson


Mrs S Boydell


Mrs V Brown



Site Supervisor


Mr Ian Turnbull